109 student-athletes named to the 2016-17 MIAA Academic Honor Roll

109 student-athletes named to the 2016-17 MIAA Academic Honor Roll

FREELAND, Mich. – One hundred and nine (109) Olivet College student-athletes have been named to the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) Academic Honor Roll for 2016-17. Olivet succeeded the 100 plateau for the fourth time in school history.

The award is administered annually by the faculty athletic representatives at each member institution in the MIAA. Olivet's faculty representatives are Samantha Myers, assistant professor of interdisciplinary studies, and Dr. Charles Wilson, associate professor of interdisciplinary studies. Wilson announced his retirement at the end of the 2016-17 academic year, and Art Williams, professor of theatre, will be his replacement.

Below is a complete listing of Olivet student-athletes who earned the honor. The asterisk symbol denotes the number of years each student-athlete has earned the honor.


  • Connor Bauserman (cross country/track & field), Danielle Bearden (volleyball), Nolan Briggs (football), Devon Mayse (softball) and Allyson Schultz (cross country/track & field) achieved this honor for a fourth consecutive year.
  • More than half (58) were named to the MIAA Academic Honor Roll for the first time.
  • Fourteen (14) women's soccer players are the most honorees for a sport.
  • Five of six women's golfers on its season-ending roster were named.
  • The MIAA champion football team placed 13 players on the list.
  • Seven honorees also earned All-MIAA honors in their respective sport. They were Ryan Anderson (football), Bruce Baker (cross country), Bauserman (indoor & outdoor track and field), Braden Black (football), Chase Cavric (football), Aaron Gillespie (baseball) and Cullen Haesler (lacrosse).
  • Mayse and Schultz also received Olivet's Donald A. Morris Award for being among the top five graduates.
Ryan Anderson ** Sr. FB DeWitt / DeWitt
Grant Arras * Sr. SO Charlotte / Charlotte
Bruce Baker *** Jr. XC/ITF/OTF Charlotte / Charlotte
Kimberly Barber ** So. ITF/OTF Gobles / Gobles
Connor Bauserman **** Sr. XC/ITF/OTF Battle Creek / Harper Creek
Danielle Bearden **** Sr. VB Goodrich / Goodrich
Brandon Benac * Fr. FB Gladwin / Ogemaw Heights
Braden Black * Sr. FB Battle Creek / Harper Creek
Brandon Bode * Fr. BsB Manton / Manton
Michael Brait *** Sr. SO Lakeshore, Ontario / St. Anne's
Nolan Briggs **** Sr. FB Mt. Pleasant / Sacred Heart
Amari Brown * Fr. BB Muskegon / Orchard View
Aaron Bush * So. FB Elsie / Ovid-Elsie
Jarod Bush * Fr. FB Eaton Rapids / Eaton Rapids
Chase Cavric ** So. FB Traverse City / West
Elle Chaplin-O'Leary * Fr. SO Ann Arbor / Rudolf Steiner
Rae Claramunt * So. TN Harbor Springs / Charlevoix
Hayley Cooper * So. GO Jackson / East Jackson
Nicole Deweyert * Fr. GO Dorchester, Ontario / Lord Dorchester Secondary
Patrick Donovan ** Sr. XC DeWitt / DeWitt
Maddy Drikakis *** Jr. TN Battle Creek / Lakeview
Chase Dunn ** Jr. SO Perry / Perry
Taylor Elley * Fr. GO St. Thomas, Onatio / Central Elgin Collegiate Institute
Emma Essen ** So. SO Blissfield / Blissfield
Sarah Feldpausch * Fr. SO Middleville / Thornapple Kellogg
Ann Fetzer ** So. SO Holly / Holly
Jeanette Fisher *** Sr. TN Macomb / Henry Ford II
Ashley Folleth * Fr. GO Mason / Holt
Leeza Fortner ** Sr. BB Clinton Twp. / L'Anse Creuse
Rob Foxworthy * So. LX Walled Lake / Walled Lake Central
Nicole Gilbert ** So. XC/ITF/OTF Battle Creek / Harper Creek
Aaron Gillespie * Fr. BsB Roseville / Memphis
Dominique Giroux *** Jr. SO Windsor, Ontario / Vincent Massey
Delaney Graham ** So. SW Brighton / Brighton
Maggie Graham * Fr. XC/ITF/OTF Portage / Northern
McKenna Graham ** So. SO Brighton / Brighton
Zak Gray *** Sr. SW Utica / East Detroit
Cullen Haesler *** Jr. LX Clinton / Tecumseh
Rachael Hager ** So. TN Battle Creek / Lakeview
Kali Hancock *** Sr. BB Cheboygan / Cheboygan
Katie Hansel * Fr. SW Greencastle, Ind. / South Putnam
Hayley Harty * Fr. SB Battle Creek / Union City
Cam Hendrickson * Sr. BsB Mt. Morris / Flint Powers
Keri Hettinger *** Jr. LX Joliet, Ill. / Providence Catholic
Mona Hinamanu ** Sr. VB Mason / Mason
Aiden Holliday ** Jr. BsB Petoskey / Petoskey
Alissa Iloncai ** Sr. XC/ITF/OTF Lapeer / East
Kaitlin Irish ** Jr. SO Grand Ledge / Grand Ledge
Jordan Jones ** So. SB Bridgman / Bridgman
Nick Jones ** Jr. BsB Plainwell / Plainwell
Michaela Kaliniak * Jr. ITF/OTF Sparta / Sparta
Rose Kemmerling * Fr. VB Monroe / St. Mary Catholic Central
Nikole Kern * So. SB Liberty Center, Ohio / Delta
Jacob Kinney *** Jr. SO North Branch / North Branch
Billy Kirkendall  * Jr. FB DeWitt / DeWitt
Sam Knoechel *** Jr. BsB Kalamazoo / Central
Justin Lamb * Fr. LX Battle Creek / Pennfield
Travis Lankerd  ** Sr. FB Battle Creek / Lakeview
Isabelle Leon *** Jr. SO/ITF/OTF Grand Rapids / East Kentwood
Griffin Lewis ** So. BB Morrice / Morrice
Marissa Lyon * Fr. SO Flint / Powers Catholic
Tyler Marsman * Fr. SO Ravenna / Ravenna
Devon Mayse **** Sr. SB Adrian / Madison
Dalton Miner * Fr. SW/TN Sunnyvale, Calif. / Homestead
Trenton Monroe * So. FB Kalamazoo / Plainwell
Molly Morey * Fr. GO Dearborn / Dearborn
Ben Morris * So. TN Holt / Holt
Jillian Nickels *** Sr. BB Byron Center / Byron Center
Madelyn Notenbaum * Fr. VB Hudsonville / Hudsonville
Cody Oracz ** Sr. LX Caledonia / Caledonia
Katie Ordiway *** Jr. LX Holly / Holly
Jordyn Osterland * Fr. SO Richmond / Richmond
Alex Parthum * Fr. BsB Grosse Pointe / Grosse Pointe South
Jessie Perez * Sr. FB Wyoming / Grandville
Greg Petty *** Sr. SO Clinton Twp. / Fraser
Miranda Pier * Fr. TN Woodhaven / Carlson
Bryan Plesner ** So. SW Jenison / Jenison
Maya Prewitt * Fr. SO Flushing / Flushing
Abby Radcliffe * Fr. SO Davison / Davison
Drew Radners * Sr. LX South Lyon / South Lyon
Josh Reimer * Sr. LX Rockford / Rockford
Emily Reinecke * Jr. SO Eaton Rapids / Eaton Rapids
Jacob Richards ** So. TN Saline / Saline
Stephanie Robinson *** Jr. LX Grand Blanc / Grand Blanc
BreAnne Rudlaff *** Jr. TN Berrien Springs / Berrien Springs
Talen Schallhorn ** Jr. TN West Olive / Black River
Allyson Schultz **** Sr. XC/ITF/OTF Traverse City / Central
Nicole Sebok ** So. XC/ITF/OTF Lennon / New Lothrop
Grant Shepherd * Fr. FB Ann Arbor / Skyline
Blake Siersema ** Jr. BB Fremont / Fremont
Kory Slaby ** So. ITF/OTF Parma / Springport
Abbie Slater * Fr. SW/LX Lake Orion / Lake Orion
Isabel Snyder ** Sr. TN Albion / Lumen Christi
Zach Sturgill * Fr. GO Flat Rock / Flat Rock
Sarah Swiercz * Fr. SO Carleton / Airport
Jessica Taylor ** So. XC/ITF/OTF Chesterfield / L'Anse Creuse
Re'Gene Thompson * Sr. VB Lansing / Everett
James Thurman * Fr. XC/ITF/OTF Charlotte / Charlotte
Gary Tompkins III * So. BsB Homer / Homer
Michael Tran ** Sr. TN Holt / Holt
Krystin Verran *** Jr. LX Grand Ledge / Grand Ledge
Austin Ward * Jr. GO Springport / Springport
Payton Watson * Fr. SB Coldwater / Coldwater
Sydnie Weller * Fr. TN Battle Creek / Harper Creek
Thomas White * Jr. FB Ionia / Ionia
Eric Wood * Fr. SW West Branch / Ogemaw Heights
Kevin Woodson * Sr. BB Lambertville / Monroe St. Mary Catholic
Emmalee Yates * Fr. VB Hastings / Hastings
Nicole Zerfas *** Sr. XC/SW/OTF Fremont / Fremont
KEY: BB-Basketball, BsB-Baseball, CC-Cross Country, FB-Football, GO-Golf, ITF-Indoor Track & Field, LX-Lacrosse, SO-Soccer, SB-Softball, SW-Swimming & Diving, OTF-Outdoor Track & Field, TN-Tennis, VB-Volleyball