Men’s basketball team loses to Loras, 105-88

Photo by Jim Naprstek, Loras College SID
Photo by Jim Naprstek, Loras College SID

DUBUQUE, Iowa – The Olivet College men's basketball team lost to the host Duhawks, 105-88, this evening in the second day of the Loras College Tip-Off Classic and played on Lillis Court in Dubuque, Iowa.


Final Score:
Loras 105, Olivet 88
Location: Lillis Court; Dubuque, Iowa
Records: Loras 3-0 overall, Olivet 1-1 overall

  • The Duhawks made their first three shots from behind the arc to go ahead 9-3. Loras took its first double digit lead, 25-15, at the 11:51 mark of the opening half. The Comets countered with a 4-0 run to trim their deficit down to six points before the Duhawks pushed their lead to 14 points, 35-21. Olivet was able to close the gap to eight points on two more occasions, with the last time being 39-31. Loras led 46-35 at halftime.
  • The Duhawks stretched their lead to 15 points, 61-46, at the 15:41 mark of the second half. The Comets cut their deficit down to seven points on three occasions. Olivet did not get any closer for the rest of the game.

  • Josh Ruggles posted game-highs in points (34) and rebounds (seven).
  • Ryan DiCanio scored 20 points.
  • Rowan McGowen and Jake Toman tallied 14 and 12 points, respectively.
  • Desmond George contributed nine assists.

  • Olivet travels to Lincoln, Nebraska, next Friday and Saturday, Nov. 23-24, to participate in the Nebraska Wesleyan University Snyder Invitational. The Comets face Greenville (Ill.) University Friday night at 5 p.m. CT/6 p.m. ET, and the host Prairie Wolves on Saturday at 4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET.